Thelonious Monk - The Columbia Years 62-68 (3CD BoxSet) (2001)

Category: Music | Comment: 0

Download Now

Thelonious Monk - The Columbia Years 62-68 (3CD BoxSet) (2001)
Thelonious Monk - The Columbia Years 62-68 (3CD BoxSet) (2001)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 1.25 Gb | MP3 @320 -> 495 Mb
Full Artwork @ 300 dpi (png) -> 222 Mb | 5% repair rar
2001 Columbia / Legacy / Sony Music | 5099751 76882 1
Jazz / Bop / Post Bop / Piano

This aptly titled triple-disc compilation examines Thelonious Monk's final years as an active recording artist. The Columbia Years: 1962-1968 is a superior primer for those seeking a thorough overview of this fertile, expressive, and oft-maligned period of Monk's career. In addition to embracing the bright moments from Monk's early- to mid-'60s studio and live releases, compilation producer Orrin Keepnews -- Thelonious' original recording producer during his formidable tenure on the Riverside label -- has included several restored performances and a few previously unissued pieces as well.
The Columbia Years: 1962-1968 is subdivided into "studio" and "live" performances with each musical configuration represented. These include Monk as a soloist, in a trio, a quartet, and in a big-band context. These varied settings further augment Thelonious Monk as not only an instinctual presence on the keyboard, but as a craftsman of timeless melody, harmony, and rhythmic counterpoint. "Think of One," "Blue Monk," and a solo "Don't Blame Me" are among the newly mined treasures exclusive to The Columbia Years: 1962-1968. As one might presume, there are no icon-shattering discoveries among the restorations or debut releases. In their stead is a resurrection of the brilliant sound lost on previous cassette and poorly mastered CD releases. Particularly notable are the live tracks with their tangible electric vibe. "Straight, No Chaser" -- taken from the September 1964 Monterey Jazz Festival -- draws the listener into its confidence with satisfying crispness and warmth.

Likewise, "Evidence" and "Epistrophy" -- taken from the soundtrack of the award-winning documentary film Straight, No Chaser -- no longer sound out of phase. In fact, the contrary would be more accurate. The conclusion of Thelonious Monk's brilliant recording career is lovingly captured on this box set. His inventive wisdom and candid spirit shine through every note.

Thelonious Monk (piano);
Ernie Small, Ernie Small (baritone saxophone);
Conte Candoli (trumpet);
Mike Wimberley , Michael Wimberly, Mike Wimberly, Bob Brookmeyer (trombone);
John Ore, Larry Gales , Steve Swallow , Butch Warren (bass instrument);
Jon Hendricks (vocals);
Howard Roberts (guitar);
Gene Allen (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone);
Phil Woods (clarinet, alto saxophone);
Pee Wee Russell (clarinet);
Buddy Collette (reeds, alto saxophone);
Steve Lacy (soprano saxophone);
Ernie Watts, Gene Cipriano (alto saxophone);
Johnny Griffin, Tom Scott, Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone);
Jack Nimitz (baritone saxophone);
Freddie Hill, Melvin Moore, Ray Copeland , Nick Travis, Bobby Bryant (trumpet);
Thad Jones (cornet);
Eddie Bert, Jimmy Cleveland, Lou Blackburn, Billy Byers (trombone);
John Guerin, Ben Riley, Frankie Dunlop (drums).

Disc one

01. Monk Speaks 0:04
02. Bye-Ya [Restored Version] 6:00
03. Coming on the Hudson [Take 3] 7:32
04. Rhythm-A-Ning [Take 2] 3:55
05. Think of One [Take 2] 6:05
06. Pannonica [Take 2] 6:47
07. Crepuscule With Nellie 2:46
08. April in Paris [Take 6]7:59
09. Ugly Beauty [Take 5] 10:47
10. Honeysuckle Rose [Take 1] 7:05
11. In Walked Bud [Restored Version] 6:50
12. Thelonious [Take 3] 3:11

Disc two
01. Reflections [Take 6] 4:37
02. Blue Monk [Take 2] 5:18
03. 'Round Midnight [Take 2] 3:51
04. Dinah [Take 2] 2:30
05. Ask Me Now [Take 1] 3:44
06. Ruby, My Dear [Take 1] 4:47
07. Don't Blame Me 5:49
08. (When It's) Darkness on the Delta 5:08
09. Played Twice 7:34
10. I Mean You 12:49
11. Bemsha Swing 4:26
12. Jackie-Ing 5:02

Disc three
01. Nutty 13:54
02. Straight, No Chaser 11:17
03. Evidence 9:03
04. Epistrophy 5:36
05. Well, You Needn't 9:18
06. Misterioso 8:24
07. Hackensack 8:00
08. Bright Mississippi 8:11

Download link:
(Buy premium account for maximum speed and resumming ability)

Links are Interchangeable - No Password
Direct Download

Tags: Thelonious, Columbia, BoxSet

Thelonious Monk - The Columbia Years 62-68 (3CD BoxSet) (2001) Fast Download via Rapidshare Hotfile Fileserve Filesonic Megaupload, Thelonious Monk - The Columbia Years 62-68 (3CD BoxSet) (2001) Torrents and Emule Download or anything related.
Dear visitor, you went to website as unregistered user.
We encourage you to Register or Login to website under your name.
Members of Guest cannot leave comments.